state champs blue.jpg

The Special Olympics Murray Rockets Blue softball team is the state champions of the Division 1A state tournament that took place in Bowling Green Sept. 9 and 10. The Murray Rockets Green earned a fourth place finish in Division B. Coaches for the teams are Leigh Toby, Dan Lavit, Rachel Oberhart, Amy Mize, Lannie Mize, Ashley Poyner and Bonnie McClure. The Rockets Blue, pictured above, includes, back row, from left, Ryan Dawson, Chris Lampkins, Dylan Volp, Chris Thomas, Ken Ashlock, Evan Miller, Jeff French; second row, Jarod Garland, Tori Morrison, Joseph Ramirez, Jon Tompkins, Colton Lampkins; front row, Andy Byerly, Hunter Morrison, Cheryl Chestnut, TJ Woods, Ryan Morrison and Timothy Rendell. The Rockets Green team, pictured below, includes, back row, from left, Tommy Hunt-Kemp, Slade Harrison, Colin Poyner, Robbie Britton, Bree Schwegman, Jeremy Tincher, Logan Lear; front row, Morgan Elliott, Andy Weatherford, Kalen Toews, Tonia Smith, Amber Garlic, Amy Butler, Michael Hawkins and Crystal Estes.