MURRAY — The annual Patterns of Distinction – Security Matters Conference took place April 9 in the Curris Center at Murray State University. Murray State’s Program of Distinction in telecommunications systems management (TSM) and Community Financial Services Bank (CFSB) co-hosted the conference, which is the largest security conference in the region, with more than 220 registered attendees.

 At the conference, keynote speakers discussed business identity theft, protection against cybercrime and cyberattacks against small businesses. The speakers included Scott Ware of Great Lakes Case & Cabinet Co., Inc.; Tyler Leet of Computer Services, Inc.; Lauren Proehl of CenturyLink Corporate Defense and Tonya McKinney of TCS Salesforce Practice.

 The conference included the 13th annual TSM Awards Luncheon, hosted by the Center for TSM and sponsored by DEVsource. The luncheon featured Murray State Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs Mark Arant, who shared the importance of computer education at Murray State University. In his remarks, Dr. Arant shared the opportunities posed in the evolving field of computer education and how Murray State University can support our regional partners in preparing the technology workforce necessary to grow and thrive within our region.

 Dr. Michael Ramage, director of the Center for TSM, presented awards to industry professionals, TSM alumni and faculty members who have made an impact in the field of technology at Murray State, within our region, and across the country. Award winners recognized during the luncheon include:

 Dr. Gene Wells Ray Lifetime Achievement Award: Larry Sanderson, senior vice president of Computer Services, Inc.

 Dick Anderson Leadership Award: Terry Sullivan, GEAR UP project director, West Kentucky Education Cooperative 

John Williams Entrepreneurship Award: Jeremy Witten, manager of maintenance and engineering, CC Metals and Alloys, LLC

 Gary Brockway Faculty/Staff Excellence Award: Dr. Tim Todd, dean, Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business; Dr. Steve Cobb, former dean, Jesse D. Jones College of Science, Engineering and Technology

 TSM Distinguished Alumni Award: Michael Williams, manager — security operations, Computer Services, Inc.; Tyler Leet, director of risk and compliance services, Computer Services, Inc.

 Lana Garner Porter Women in Technology Award: Betsy Flynn, president/CEO, Community Financial Services Bank, Inc.

 In addition to the Security Matters Conference, the Center for TSM will host the fourth annual IT Matters Conference at the Murray State University Paducah Regional Campus on Sept. 19. For more information, visit the Center for TSM website at  

Recommended for you