The Calloway County Board of Elections is gearing up for the May Primary set for Tuesday May 17.

All state offices requiring four-year terms will be on the ballot in May and November including a race for the governor’s office.

Calloway County Clerk Ray Coursey Jr. told board members Dottie Lyons, Dave Foley and Calloway County Sheriff Bill Marcum that pre-election preparations and deadlines are coming up through election day of which the public needs to be aware.

About 140 election officers will be needed for training and balloting duties and board members are asking anyone interested to sign up. Training for election clerks, judges and sheriffs has been set for 9 a.m. on May 7 in district courtroom at the Calloway County Judicial Center. Those interested are asked to contact Foley at 753-4446 or Lyons at 753-6351.

Coursey said he hopes to train more than 140 to offset any loss of volunteers for various reasons and is asking anyone that wants to participate to make their wishes known. 

Also, mock elections have been planned at both Calloway County and Murray high schools to give students and opportunity to learn about voting as a civic duty and provide a chance for future voters to learn how to use the new voting machines. Mock polling is scheduled at CCHS on Feb. 8 and at MHS on Feb. 10.

Coursey reminds voters that Monday, April 18, is the last day for those currently not registered to register to participate in the May primary election. The deadline to change parties has already passed. All 31 Calloway County polling centers will remain the same as those used during last year’s November General Election. No changes are anticipated.

There are no local officers on the ballot for 2011 in Calloway County.

On the ballot will be races for governor and governor, attorney general, auditor of public accounts, state treasurer and commissioner of agriculture.

Candidates filed with the Secretary of State’s office to run for the governor and lieutenant governor’s office include incumbent Steven L. Beshear and Jerry Abramson on the Democratic ticket. Republicans filed to run include David Williams of Burkesville and Richie Farmer, Barbara “Bobbie” Holsclaw and Bill Vermillion Jr.; Phil Moffett and Mark Harmon.

Incumbent Democrat Jack Conway will face off with Republican challenger Todd P’Pool in the race for attorney general. Four candidates are running for the secretary of state’s position including Democrats Alison Lundergan Grimes and Elaine N. Walker as well as Republicans Bill Johnson and Hilda Legg.

Candidates for auditor include Republicans Adam H. Edelen and John T. Kemper III as well as Democrat Addia Kathryn Wuchner. There are seven persons filed to run for commissioner of agriculture including Democrats Robert “Bob” Farmer, Stewart Gritton, John Faris Lackey and David Williams of Glasgow, Ky.  and B.D. Wilson. Republican candidates for the office include James R. Comer and Rob Rothenburger.

Candidates for state treasurer include Democrat incumbent L.J. “Todd” Holenbach, Steve Hamrick and Republican K.C. Crosbie.

Recommended for you