Murray State head basketball coach Matt McMahon has been named as a finalist for the 2019 Hugh Durham Award presented by The announcement marks the second time in three days that McMahon has been named as a finalist for an award by the outlet after being named to the final 25 for the Skip Prosser Man of the Year award Wednesday.

The Hugh Durham Award is presented annually to the nation’s top mid-major coach.  In eight seasons as the head coach at Jacksonville University, Durham became the Dolphins’ all-time winningest Division I coach (106 wins), making him the only coach in NCAA history to be the winningest coach (pct. or wins) at three different Division I schools.

McMahon joins longtime Belmont head coach Rick Byrd, as the two OVC representatives on the list of this year’s finalists. The Murray State head man is now a two-time finalist for the award, after making the final list last season as well. Other Murray State coaches to be named as a Durham finalist are Billy Kennedy in 2010 and Steve Prohm in both 2012 and 2015.

The recipient of the 2019 Hugh Durham Award will be announced on April 5 at the College Insider Awards Event, in Minneapolis, Minnesota, site of the 2019 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship.

Recommended for you